Facebook /seaventeares
Instagram @charredlurker
Twitter @charlielooker

Seaven Teares

Seaven Teares is a New York band formed in 2010 featuring singer/songwriter Charlie Looker (Psalm Zero, ex-Extra Life), experimental vocalist Amirtha Kidambi (Elder Ones), Robbie Lee (Howling Hex) on woodwinds, guitars and synth, and percussionist Russell Greenberg (Yarn/Wire). 

Seaven Teares’ mostly acoustic sound brings together a number of disparate influences: post-Industrial neofolk (Death In June, Current 93), 1960’s co-ed pop folk groups (Mamas and the Papas, Ian & Sylvia), the drones and textures of modern composition and experimental improvisation, and the cold alien vocal harmonies of Gothic era liturgical music. The seven slow-burning songs shift between abstract raga-like meditations and straight melodic hooks, set against acoustic guitars, dark synth ambience, vibraphone, bells, and occasional harsh electronics, as well as authentic Medieval pump organ and recorders. 

Seaven Teares’ debut album Power Ballads was released in 2013 on Northern Spy Records to critical acclaim. Though the band only performs live very selectively, Seaven Teares has played at the Wels Unlimited Festival (Austria), The Stone (New York), and Roulette (New York). A second album is in the works for 2019.


Charlie Looker – voice, guitar

Amirtha Kidambi – voice, harmonium, synth

Robbie Lee – portative organ, woodwinds, guitars

Russell Greenberg - percussion